Introducing the “Voice in the Wilderness” Party Platform

I think about politics a lot, but when I think about politics, I think about what’s happening from a Christian point of view. I think about the unintended consequences. Where do things lead? Sometimes it may be a slippery slope, but I’ve seen too many things slide down the slope. It’s better to stop bad ideas before they get on the slide. I don’t believe in the separation of Church and State; at least not the version non-Christians try to push. I don’t separate the two. Jesus doesn’t wait outside the voting booth. He’s a smart guy, but c’mon, He doesn’t get it when you tell Him you need to keep politics and religion separate. Actually, I’m sure He does, but I can’t imagine it makes Him happy.

I hear the arguments: Jesus would have been a Democrat! Jesus would have been a Republican! I’ll be honest. I think it’s all speculation, and I’m going to speculate as well.

I don’t think Jesus wouldn’t have belonged to any party. I think he would have been an independent–small i intentional–in the truest sense of the word. Would He have voted? I don’t know. I think He would have. When Jesus walked the earth as a man, certain things were hidden from Him by the Father, but I think He would have known exactly what each politician would have done in office. What if He knew each would bring Israel to further sin? Would He abstain, or would He vote for a third-party? Would He vote for a third-party candidate He knew–as a matter of fact–wouldn’t win? Would He throw His vote away by voting His conscience? Would He skip the vote knowing His vote "wouldn’t count anyway" allowing the greater-of-two-evils a victory? Would He vote for the lesser-of-two-evils? Think about that for a minute. Knowing that all men fall short of the glory of God, and all candidates have some amount of evil in them, isn’t that what we’re always doing? Voting for the lesser-of-two-evils? Jesus would certainly be in the best position to know who the lesser-of-two-evils actually is.

So, I’ve written this political platform for a fictional party called the Voice in the Wilderness Party. I’m not saying I’m any John the Baptist, by any stretch. But I am, at the moment, a lone voice, yelling in the digital wilderness. If the number grows, the name will change. It won’t fit any more.

But the goal is to get down, in writing, an idea of what I think a Christian’s political platform would/should look like. It’s not done. It’s a first draft, but with elections looming, I thought that a draft is better than nothing. It’s supposed to make you think. Eventually it will contain links supporting every position I’ve staked out.

If you read it, you may get the impression that I’m anti-Democrat. Don’t be afraid to say it. I’m not. I am stubbornly, proudly, anti-Democrat. That doesn’t mean I’m Republican though. I’m also stubbornly, proudly anti-Democrat and independent. If that means I have to vote for Republicans, then so be it. I’m still waiting for a third-party candidate I actually like that has a change of winning.

In the meantime, enjoy.

The Voice in the Wilderness Party Platform

Leave a Reply

